Dynamic Values for a new Column

syhussaini

Hello Team,

I am writing to seek your help in building a new column on my List which should set values dynamically i.e. based on the date value of the other column in the list.

I have an Expiry Date Field and now I would like to show another column in the list where if the date is less than today the cell value should be set to Expired and if it is greater than or equal to today it should set to Active.

Currently I am filtering out the expired items, however, I would like to show them but with the respective status.

I would also like to achieve a way color the rows that have the status "Expired".

Can someone please guide me.

PS: I am a newbie with a fast learning ability, kindly consider adding steps and I will certainly follow.

Looking forward to hearing soon.

Best Regards,
Syed H

When you display a form, you want a calc element to decide whether it is expired or not.

By default, this is calculated when you load the form, when you save the form and when you display the list. The problem is that if you have a large list, then when you display the list doing the calcs on every row individually can take a long time. So, what you need to do is in the Calc settings, set:

Only Calc on Save = Yes (so it doesn't calc on List)
Ajax calculation = Yes (so calc on load works)
Calc on load = Yes (so form value is correct when loaded directly)​

Then on the list add a PHP Events plugin, and for the onPreloadData event write some PHP to issue an SQL update statement which:

a. Calculates whether the value should be Active or Expired
b. Updates all rows to this value where the actual value does not equal the calculated value (you don't want to update the rows where the value is already correct for performance reasons).

If you need help with the onPreloadData, I can provide you with some example code from my own site (which does a different update but the concept is the same).

Dear Sophist,