Creating Field from two other fields

zipster1967

I have a table of employee information where the user can enter their first name in one field and last name in another field and I need to create one more field with their full name. Can I create the fullname field automatically by combining the firstname and lastname fields and if so how do I do that? I am new to fabrik and am not fluent in it's controls so a step by step would be very helpful.

I do not see the calc element in my version of Fabrik (I am using 3.1rc2. I located the plug-in for download but it does not show for version 3.1 joomla but for version 2.5 Am I going to cause problems if I install that plug-in to my version of Fabrik?

It will be wise for you to update to using Fabrik 3.1 as many bugs have been corrected. (See http://fabrikar.com/download).
You will need to download the Element - Calc plug-in. V 3.1. (It is not part of the standard configuration).
It should work with the RC2 version, anyway.
Alastair

I am using Fabrik 3.1rc2 I have installed the calc plug-in but am not familiar with how to create the php code to combine the two fields into a new field. I have a field called FIRSTNAME and a field called LASTNAME both of which are in a table called employees Could you give me an example of what I should put in the Calculation area to accomplish the creation of the FULLNAME Field?

OK - to use the Calc element, you are going to need to create a 'dummy' field to hold the combined result of the concatenated first name and last name.
So - in Element, create a new element called 'combined_name'.
For the element type - select 'calc', and Save.
Save the new element in the Group that you have chosen.
Then under More (tab at the bottom), you can add the script:

$combined_name = '{employees___FIRSTNAME}'." ".'{employees___LASTNAME}';
return $combined_name;

All that this script does is concatenate (or join) the two text items with the space (i.e. " ") in between, and return it.

Try it out.