Beginner. Orientation needed...

pchristodoulou

Hi to all!

I am fairly new to Joomla and Fabrik and I would like to ask for some quick advice.
I am more of an enthusiast rather than a developer, trying to help a friend with some sort of web database application for some research needs. I need to ask some general questions and I would greatly appreciate anyone's contribution, in order to decide if it would be overwhelming for me to get involved with such a project.

So at least for the beginning, simple general questions in order to get some basic orientation towards my goal, find out what's possible, how easy etc.
Forgive me in advance for the long post.

A few words about what is needed:

• A web-based database-sort-of application to record some research data concerning the identification of textile fibres found in archaeological or historical context.
  • The schema of the database has already been thought of and designed in general. Needless to dive deeper into it for the time being.
  • Data is spread in many tables in order to conform to basic database design principles, and at the same time keep the whole project flexible.
  • The site/application will also be able to manage a database of users with different access to the data stored (read, write, edit/review, approve etc.)
  • It would be desirable to have an anouncement system to promote cooperation.
Also a few words about me:
I am not a developer
I have a fair knowledge of database design and an advanced experience with Filemaker
I have a basic understanding of Joomla principles and concept,
I can "understand" what a simple piece of code is performing (e.g. in Javascript) and try to tweak it to my own needs if I find something similar.

Therefore, I am wondering whether it will be possible to climb the learning curve of Fabrik and Joomla and build it.

If the answer is positive (I really hope to it), how would you approach, what would you advise?