[Solved] multiple/chained many to many join

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy-O

Hi,
I have a supposedly standard question but I am a bit in a hurry and while I know my SQL to join a set of normalized tables I am a beginner with Fabrik.
I don't understand how I do chained many to many joins with Fabrik.
Let me explain what I'm looking for:
I have three main tables, lets say categories, sections and books.
I need to have
?a form that enables me to insert book records and at the same time let me select multiple options of categories and sections related to the book I am inserting
?a front end view that I can filter on categories and sections so I only get the relevant books shown
Now in standard SQL this would need 4 joins:

SELECT * FROM books b
INNER JOIN (books_x_sections
INNER JOIN (sections
INNER JOIN (sections_x_categories
INNER JOIN categories ON sections_x_categories.cid = categories.id)
ON sections.id = sections_x_categories.sid)
ON books_x_sections.sid = sections.id)
ON books.id = books_x_sections.bid)

From the tutorial video example with two tables joined by many to many I understand that you need to use a crosstable with fk's and you can join a joined table on this crosstable
but how to get it done with three tables like above and get the form and front end view I need I don't understand.
Please somebody give me an explanation how to get this done.

To narrow down the results like a WHERE clause yes,

but the question is how I can get the joined content of all three tables in one output (which is supposed to be a list I guess).

Now I could throw overboard the requirement of multiple parents by using one-to-many relations with cascading dropdowns but that would be a poor solution.
If a cascading dropdown could be repeatable that would be a workaround but I can't see how to do that. Anyone?

Here's a better version of my m : n example:

SELECT * FROM subjects
INNER JOIN (subjects_x_themes
INNER JOIN (themes
INNER JOIN (themes_x_books