Guidance on Linking Forms

Status
Not open for further replies.

degarrin

Hello. This is going to be a long post, so please bear with me as I explain what I am attempting to do. I have been using Fabrik for a few months, but I am just now getting into some of the features of joining tables, linking records, etc. I have I read over the tutorials and various forum posts regarding table joins, the autofill element, creating a search form, table relationships, etc., but I am having difficulty accomplishing my goal and that is what I need some assistance with today.

I have two main record areas in my site: Member Records and Client Records. They are each their own forms. Then I have a variety of other forms that go along with those records. Some are for use only with the Member Records, some for use only with Client Records, and some for use with both. I want all of the member forms to be linked together (and all the client forms linked together, etc). So for instance, say a person needs to create an attendance record. I want them to be able to get to it from their main member record and have it pre-populate with their personal information as much as possible. Then I want to be able to go to a page on my site, type in a person's name, and pull up links to all of their records - any forms they have filled out.

The one constant on all my forms is that I have them pulling in the main Joomla Users table with a databasejoin element so that all the forms can be associated with the individual via their Joomla account. The only exception is my custom registration form, which uses the Fabrik juser plugin instead.

I was thinking that I might need to do table joins and then create a large search form? I tried that, but couldn't quite get it to work. Perhaps using the Joomla Users table via the database join element in my forms is interfering? Does anyone have suggestions on the best way to accomplish my goal or what step I might be missing? Any assistance is appreciated.