Importing partial data from two forms into a different form

Status
Not open for further replies.

degarrin

I am looking for some suggestions on the best way to handle an issue I've had come up with a form. We have two separate forms that need to be merged into one new, improved form. The new form will include some of the fields from the original forms, but not all of them, and will also have new fields added as well. Is there an easy way to get the data from the original forms into the new form without having to just re-enter it all? Would a database join or CSV import do the trick or would the fact that I only need certain fields cause a problem? Or am I going to have to do something more complex via the database? I am a noob when it comes to those features, so I'm not sure what to try without messing up the tables.

Thanks!
Angela

the answer depends a bit on what the data it is that you have in the two tables, ie is there a common value that links record X in table A to record Y in table B?

Could you post a description of the two tables?

thx
Rob

The two "old" tables are fab_heal_session and fab_heal_screen. We are a church and offer certain wellness services to our members. The two forms work in tandem, so there is actually a lot of duplication of information. I have already created the new form, with the table fab_healings, however, no big deal if that doesn't work and I need to do something else or start from scratch. Each form has several different groups, but they all have a "General" group. I included screenshots of the "General" group of each form so you could see the elements I have set up in each, because that is where the most duplication exists.

Does that answer what you needed? If not, let me know.

Thanks!
Angela

Attachments

• Healing Session Form.JPG
    Healing Session Form.JPG
    69.6 KB · Views: 158
  • Healing Screening Form.JPG
    Healing Screening Form.JPG
    58.9 KB · Views: 182
  • Healing Form - New.JPG
    Healing Form - New.JPG